Skip to content
SMO Generic Banner Image

Opportunity for New Gaelic Writers

The Gaelic Books Council and Scottish Book Trust are seeking two unpublished writers to participate in the Gaelic New Writers Awards 2020.

The annual Gaelic New Writers Awards development scheme, a collaboration between the two organisations, is now open for applications. Through this programme, two new Gaelic writers will each be awarded grants of £2,000 and professional advice regarding their work. The Awardees will receive a tailored package which can include mentoring from experienced writers and industry professionals, training in PR and presentation, and a week-long retreat at Moniack Mhòr Creative Writing Centre near Inverness.

Now entering the eleventh year of this successful partnership, both organisations are keen to hear from Gaelic writers who have so far kept their talents under wraps but are now ready to bring their work to a wider audience. Previous recipients of Gaelic New Writers Awards include Morag Ann MacNeil, Niall O’Gallagher and Calum L. MacLeod. Another author who received support through this programme is John D. Urquhart, who recently won the prestigious 2019 Donald Meek Award for his collection of Gaelic poetry, Turas (Journey).

The scheme is open to unpublished Gaelic writers of various genres on condition that they are resident in Scotland and not in full-time education.

Further information about the Gaelic New Writers Awards 2020 can be obtained from Mairi MacCuish, Literature and Publishing Officer at the Gaelic Books Council, or from the Gaelic Books Council’s website Applications must be received by 5.00pm on Friday 8th November 2019.

© Sabhal Mòr Ostaig | Design by CGS | Sabhal Mòr Ostaig is a Scottish registered charity · No. SC002578